Electrifying Transformation Unveiled in Historic National Elections As Ara Takes the Baton as Lagos PMAN Governor



In a dazzling event on October 24, 2023, the Performing Musicians Employers Association of Nigeria (PMAN) held it's National Convention with elections drawing Delegates from the 36 state Chapters all over the nation, cementing its commitment to industry standards and the flourishing Nigerian music scene.

Incumbent President Pretty Okafor, initially hesitant, was reelected as PMAN President, unopposed, backed by state chapters' resounding support citing his clearly demonstrated transformative leadership clearing Okafor's path.


1st Vice President Suny Neji and 2nd Vice President Zaaki Azaay retained positions unopposed, while the National Treasurer position shifted to Baba Ojonugwa (JFO), defeating incumbent Asha Gangali, while Ruggedman secured his role seamlessly.


The current General Secretary Boniface Itodo continued his pivotal role, joined by the charismatic Mr. Bem Faga (Bem P) as Assistant General Secretary, injecting fresh perspectives into the exco.


In a gripping post-election statement, Pretty Okafor unveiled the emotional dynamics behind his return, revealing an election more of adoption than contest. He cited the numerous ground breaking achievements during his stewardship as the reason for his reinstatement and overwhelming vote of confidence by the Delegates. These include the introduction of the PMAN biometric ID card and attendant benefits for musicians welfare, the purchase of a befitting PMAN head office The Nigerian Music House with state of the art facilities, the commissioning of the PMAN radio first in Lagos and to be replicated  in the 6 geopolitical zones, several advances as it pertains to rights and protection of artistes works via the amendment of the copyright protection act amongst others.


The new PMAN Executive Committee, led by Pretty Okafor, promises an exhilarating chapter for Nigerian music.


Ara, Nigeria’s foremost female drummer, was also unveiled as PMAN Lagos State Chapter Governor, focusing on Gen Z awareness and safeguarding artists. She stated, “I and team aim to create awareness for PMAN in Lagos, engaging Gen Z artists, and educating them on the industry's intricacies. We will be swift to address issues like what happened to the late Mohbad.by advocating for artist protection and education.”


The Executive Committee includes Pretty Okafor as President, Sunny Neji as 1st Vice President, Zaaki Azzay as 2nd Vice President, Baba J.F.O as Treasurer, Ruggedman as Chairman, Media Committee, Boniface Itodo as General Secretary, and Fada Bem Paul as Assistant General Secretary.


PMAN anticipates a vibrant future under its visionary leaders, fostering innovation, unity, and unparalleled success in the Nigerian music industry.